Friday. June. Twenty nine.

I have decided that I am gonna try something new now. Something that’s very scary for me, something that makes me a little bit uncomfortable. But it’s something I’ve been wanting to do for so long, but never had the courage to do. For many years I’ve been writing a blog, for friends and family to read when I am away on different adventures. Sometimes I write every day, and sometimes I take a very long break, this time it's been a year since I wrote something here. When I was travelling through South East Asia from October 2016 to May 2017 I was writing about every day, every place I went to, what I was feeling and thinking all the time. I was travelling alone so it was a helpful way for me to try to sort out thoughts and feelings that was going on inside of me, to move some things from my head to a paper (or the computer). I told a lot of people I met while travelling about my blog and they got really interested and wanted to read it, but unfortunately I was writing in Swedish so no one could really read it, which was very sad. The whole time I was thinking of starting to write in english, but I felt that my english was not good enough. I have no problem in speaking english,  cause then you can get away with doing some mistakes every now and then. But when you write everyone notice all the mistakes you do, and that’s what I find scary. 

 

 

 

Lately I’ve been reading a book called “Feel the fear, and do it anyway” by Susan Jeffers, a quite old book (from 1987) but I highly recommend everyone to read it. As the title says it’s about to overcome your fears, accept that you have the fear, handle it, and do it anyway. In my case the fear is to start my blog in English, to be able to reach out to all my friends I now have all over the world.

Thinking about it now, honestly, what’s the worst that could possibly happen? That no one will read it? No one will appreciate it? Do I actually think that people will laugh about my english and think I’m stupid for even trying? Well, I did realise, it’s their problem, not mine. I’m doing a great job for at least trying and to put myself out there in the unknown and in an uncomfortable situation. And if I do fail, I gave it a try, I pushed myself to do something that felt scary for me, but I know I will learn something from it anyway. It’s not like it will make me go backwards in life, I will be at the exactly same position as where I started, but now with more confidence to deal with my own fears. So let's try this. I feel the fear, but I will do it anyway!

Kommentarer :

#1: Anonym

Lina - you’re my light.

skriven
#2: Anonym

My light, a shining charmer. My one true dove. My princess of awesomeness.

skriven
#3: Anonym

Du är en inspirerande själ och jag är så glad och tacksam att ha dig som vän! You are absolutely awesome in so many ways! /M.W. <3

skriven

Kommentera inlägget här :